The guilt of skipping school

Today is the first day I’ve taken off sick from work for a long, long time. So why do I feel so guilty?

I’m genuinely not able to work – I started with some sharp pains in my left hand side last night that eased, then re-appeared this morning at around 5am. After a quick check with Dr. Google it seems that I have ‘round ligament pains’ which, according to various pregnancy websites are ‘mild’ pains causing ‘some’ discomfort.

 

SOME discomfort and MILD pains? Do me a favour!! I phoned my midwife earlier and after a chat she agreed that it’s 99% likely to be ligament stretching. There’s not way I could sit at my desk all day and attend various meetings, the pain is just too uncomfortable and apparently there’s ‘not much’ that can be done other than a hot bath and to put my feet up and rest (if I can find a comfortable position). So, I find myself resting.

 

I’ve had the bath which was great, although can now feel the aches and stretches starting again. I’m not a good patient so being enforced to rest when there is so much to do around me is frustrating. I did think about making a start on clearing out my clothes but the bending down to the drawers was too uncomfortable. We also need to hoover and there is plenty of ironing to be done, but I know I have to take it easy.

 

So, I find myself sat with my feet up, watching a set of Come Dine With Me. It’s 10:45 and I’m bored already. In less than eight weeks time I will finish work and have six weeks before the Baby’s due date…. I’m going to be climbing the walls by the end of week one I’m sure!

 

I guess I shouldn’t complain too much, this is the only unbearable thing I’ve had during my pregnancy, and at 26+2 I guess that’s not too bad.

 

3 Comments

Filed under Pregnancy

3 responses to “The guilt of skipping school

  1. Very soon you will have commitments unimaginable, Sarah. Best advice. Relax all you can 🙂

  2. Yes I should be – although my kindle needs charging so currently plugged in whilst I watch a film then will try and read this afternoon. 🙂

  3. Shouldn’t you be catching up on your Kindle reading 🙂 Enjoyed your review earlier too, on talking to a widower. Another book for my holiday list. Have fun. Enjoy the rest.

All feedback welcome, so please leave a comment!

