Art Pengriffin and The Curse of The Four – Norman Revill & Clive Fleury

Read                5 – 7 June 2012

My rating          4 / 5

Format             Kindle

Reviewed for and on behalf of the Kindle Book Review

Art Pengriffin is the first in what will become a series of novels. The story is a modern twist on the legends of Arthur and Merlin.

Art is (unbeknownst to him) the son of Merlin. He and his mother live in a sleepy Welsh village and Art is new to the local school. He is bullied and his unusual name is the butt of many jokes. Just as things start to look up for Art, his mum announces they’re moving again. But what is she running away from?

This book is brilliant – having recently returned to reviewing I was beginning to despair that I wasn’t going to find another gem like some of the brilliant books I read earlier on this year. However, I can say that this is a REAL gem. The writing is fluid and the story is exciting. It flows really well, and it keeps you gripped as it develops. The book is full of magic, intrigue and mystery and is one of those rare cross over YA novels – it will capture the imaginations of both young and old, and I can imagine it being read to children by excited parents. Although I’ve not read them… I imagine the Art Pengriffin series to almost be a Harry Potter in the making.

The book is gory and mysterious and is a real rollercoaster as the ‘four’ try to capture Art and his mum. Art is a really likeable character, and you can’t help but root for him as he faces the bullies and seeks to capture the heart of Megan.

So… if the book is so fantastic, why not a full blown five stars? Well… if I’m honest there was some language in it that I thought wasn’t quite suited to the YA market (And that may just be me being prudish!) and the final scene where Art seeks to meet his destiny went on a little too much for me, personally.

That said, I absolutely cannot wait for the next instalment in the Art Pengriffin stories – there’s much to work with and it looks set to be an exciting series.

1 Comment

Filed under 4 Star, Book Review, Kindle, Kindle Book review

One response to “Art Pengriffin and The Curse of The Four – Norman Revill & Clive Fleury

  1. Pingback: My week in books – 10 June | A Kindle & Kittens

All feedback welcome, so please leave a comment!

