The Midwife’s Here! The Enchanting True Story of One of Britain’s Longest Serving Midwives – Linda Fairley

Read    4 June

Rating 4 / 5

 

I guess it’s no surprise that, as a first time mum to be, this book caught my eye whilst I was perusing the shelves of WHSmith one lunch time. Usually I’m not one for ‘real life’ or autobiographical stories, but this one spiked my interest because the midwife concerned serves a local area close to where I live, and was schooled in the area I currently live.

 

The book is well written and easy to read (I read it in one afternoon) but I have to say it wasn’t quite what I expected. The story starts with Linda deciding she wishes to become a nurse, and what follows is the story of her training; it was a good 30% before the midwifery stuff came in. The general nurse training was, for me, a little too gory.

 

It was really 50% of the way through before we got to hear about the trials and tribulations of being a trainee midwife. This was fascinating, and detailed the skills that midwives hold, and the training that they undertake.

 

The stories of the women and their babies were heartwarming, if a little scary(!),  and there were some terribly sad stories too. However, what is clear is that Linda loves her job, and for her, it is a real vocation.

 

I just hope my own midwife come November is as skilled and experienced as Linda!

3 Comments

Filed under 4 Star, Book Review, Kindle

3 responses to “The Midwife’s Here! The Enchanting True Story of One of Britain’s Longest Serving Midwives – Linda Fairley

  1. Pingback: My week in books – 10 June | A Kindle & Kittens

  2. Yay for midwives!

    And congratulations on your pregnancy, this is the first I have heard of it. Do you know if it is a boy or a girl yet?

All feedback welcome, so please leave a comment!

