An Explanation

I feel I owe an explanation.

You will have noticed that over the past 7-8 weeks or so, my reviewing has really dropped off, and I’ve not been as active on my blog and twitter as I had been previously. Well, the simple reason is… I’m expecting.

Having to battle the nausea and what I can only describe as complete and utter exhaustion has meant that reading and social networking has taken a real back seat. If I’m honest any form of life outside of work has taken a real backseat. It’s only really the past week or so, since coming back from Barcelona, that I’ve been managing to stay awake in an evening. Since mid March I’ve spent my weekends mostly snoozing on the coach under a blanket and I found myself heading to bed when I got home from work most evenings. All a step change for me as beforehand I regularly woke up around 6:30am and could read all day long without falling asleep. I’m amazed if I can get through 3-4 pages without falling asleep at the moment!

I’m hopeful now that as I move into the second trimester, I may start to feel move alive although I am sure there’ll be more things to get used to, least of all my ever-expanding waistline. The sickness is passing now, and I’m beginning to regain my appetite which is all good. I feel much brighter, but there is much to sort out over the next few months, least of all sorting out some serious work in the house (electrical re-wire, plastering and decorating the spare room!) and I’ll have to start thinking at some point about when I’ll finish work, and how long I’ll take on maternity leave – pregnancy has opened up a whole new world to me!

The baby is due in November (close to our wedding anniversary date) so I’ll be hoping to clear my backlog of books by mid October – I am sure that once the new arrival is here I’ll be back to exhaustion pretty quickly! I hope to be back up and reviewing again early in 2013, and of course the first thing on my shopping list will be some beautiful children’s books – if there any publishers out there that would like Baby Doyle to review children’s books for them, please feel free to contact me 🙂

So, thank you to those authors in my queue who have had to wait such a long time for me to read and review your work, I hope this post offers some explanation and reason why.

17 Comments

Filed under About Me, Pregnancy

17 responses to “An Explanation

  1. Pingback: My week in books – 10 June | A Kindle & Kittens

  2. Congratulations, Sarah. That’s great news!

  3. Congratulations Sarah, these are great news 🙂

  4. I had a feeling something was going on 😉 congratulations Sarah, and my best to you and your husband.

    • a ha, yes, something has certainly been going on! We wanted to keep quiet until we had the official scan and OK from the Doctors. Told Family this week so it’s been an adrenaline packed few days! But thank you for your good wishes – you need to get that second book published soon before I hit the sleepy phase again!

      • Perhaps after your blessed day arrives. Our dear friend, Mr. Potter, read my rough draft and attached approximately 60 ways to make it better… Back to the drawing board for some rewrites 😦

      • Well I’m not due until mid-November, so you’ve got some times.
        Good luck with the re-writes, I can’t wait to read it!

  5. Many congrats. The first few months are the worst. I threw up every five flaming minutes when I was pregnant. Glad you are starting to feel better now. xxxxxxxx

    • Yeah, I’m getting there now. I’m managing to stay more or less awake for the day! It’s not been as bad as I thought it would be though, it’s just the extreme tiredness I’ve found hard! Thanks for you good wishes 🙂

  6. Congratulations to you and hubby, Sarah!

  7. Congratulations, Sarah! That’s wonderful news. Glad to hear that the sickness is passing. No need to worry at all about reviews – such things fade into insignificance by comparison.

    • Thank you. I thought it’s had passed but then struck again big style on Friday! I’m beginning to feel more ‘normal’ now so I’m hoping to be able to keep my eyes open to read again soon!

All feedback welcome, so please leave a comment!

