Hostile Witness – Rebecca Forster

Read                06 – 11 April 2012

My rating          3 / 5

Format             Kindle

Reviewed for and on behalf of the Kindle Book Review

Hostile Witness is one of those books that I reckon most new Kindle owners rush out to download. When I got my Kindle back in December, I had a look through the free books, and this was one of them. It’s been at the top of the free books list for a while, and I was lucky to be approached by the author a few weeks later to ask me to formally review it.

The story follows Josie, a headstrong lawyer who is approached by an old college friend to defend her daughter who has found herself accused of the murder of a prominent Judge. Hannah (the accused) is a troubled young woman, and it seems everyone has already written her off as guilty.

It’s a good read, with some interesting characters with a lot of depth. I did, however find this book tedious in places, and found myself skim reading large sections. It’s a long read, which isn’t ordinarily a problem, but it did feel at times that it was overly long in places, without really developing the story in any meaningful way.

There are a frustrating number of typing errors in the book – it’s almost like some sections have been edited and others haven’t. What it really needs is a good editor to go through this book and trim away some of the excess ‘fat’ and leave a tightly woven story in its place. Some sections didn’t feel, to me to be coherent and didn’t easily flow into each other.

That said, I’ll be interested to read the next in the series as I think Forster has some real potential, particularly with the main character she’s crafted and I’ll enjoy seeing her writing style develop.

1 Comment

Filed under 3 Star, Book Review

One response to “Hostile Witness – Rebecca Forster

  1. Pingback: My week in books – 15 April | A Kindle & Kittens

All feedback welcome, so please leave a comment!

