The Hunger Games – Suzanne Collins

Read                24 – 27th March 2012

My rating          5 / 5

Format             Kindle

 

I’ll admit, I’m a bit of a snob when it comes to so called blockbuster books. I’m not one to follow a crowd and would much rather discover a book myself, rather than pick up the next big thing.

 

So, it was with a slight reluctance that I downloaded the hunger games last weekend. Despite all my reservations I was immediately hooked. It’s a gripping book with likeable characters and enough twists and turns to keep me interested.

 

This is, on the surface, quite a depressing book. Essentially 12 districts and suppressed citizens must each provide two tributes to participate in the Hunger Games, leaving almost certainly to their death. Sounds a bit grim eh? In truth, it’s not. I don’t want to spoil the book, but there is a hope that comes through this book, and I cant wait to read the next in the trilogy…. The book ends in just the right way – enough closure to satisfy the reader but enough intrigue to make reading the next instalment a must.

What this book does is make you think…. especially if you’re sat in the comfort of your western home with a full stomach. There is a mirror being held up here that we’d all do well to look at. An obsession with material wealth and celebrity status and image are portrayed well, and you can’t help at times but think of those nations that are less fortunate than us, and have been oppressed by the rich western states.

This is billed as a young adult book but it is the best of the YA crossovers I’ve read – it’ll have huge market appeal (as has already been proven) but that said, I don’t want to see the film…. I don’t think it can live up to the characters I’ve created in my imagination.

8 Comments

Filed under 5 Star, Kindle

8 responses to “The Hunger Games – Suzanne Collins

  1. Pingback: Catching Fire – Suzanne Collins | A Kindle & Kittens

  2. Pingback: My week in books – 25 March – 1 April | A Kindle & Kittens

  3. Up until last week I thought the hunger games was a docu-film about the olympics and the money spent on it. Now it seems The Hunger Games is the next big thing. I hope it’s better than The Passage. As ever your review left be desperate to start reading it, which I probably will. Just as soon as I finish Game of Proof and our man Stillwell’s draft of Obligation II – which has started very well.

    • Don’t get me started on the Olympics… Huge amount a money being thrown at it yet by the end of parlilament we won’t have an NHS, public sector workers getting screwed left, right and centre and we’ve got idiot politicians inciting panic buying (and happily pushing up the cost of fuel) Rant over.
      I’m very jealous you’re on to Obligation 2 – I can’t wait to read it.
      Game of Proof is good – I’ve got the other two in my review queue. My next book up is Hostile Witness I think

  4. Sarah, Sarah, Sarah.

    I never thought you would ever betray your roots and go mainstream like this.

    Everyone is banging on about this one. I am not sure if I can resist forever.

  5. Great review; I’m glad to hear you enjoyed the book, it’s one of my favorites! I still haven’t seen the movie yet, and am definitely conflicted… I’ll probably break down and go, but there is something about having the characters exactly as you imagine them in your head that’s always nicer than the Hollywood version. I’ll be really interested to hear your insights into the rest of the trilogy!

All feedback welcome, so please leave a comment!

