Watching Horsepats Feed the Roses – Caroline England

Read                11 March 2012

My rating          3 / 5

Format             Kindle

Watching Horsepats feed the roses is a collection of Short Stories, and is the first adult title published by AchukaBooks. I’ve got a number of books on my to read list, but I fancied something short and easy to read this afternoon, and therefore thought I’d try this collection of short stories.

I’ve recently discovered the short stories genre, and I liked the description of ‘these cameos of quirks and cruelty will delight all those who find the short story form appealing.’ The stories are quirky and, I think, more likely to suit a British taste. The stories predominantly focus on death, in varying forms, and takes a dark and quirky look at the topic.

I have to say that I didn’t ‘get’ some of the stories, they were just a little too abstract for me, but there are a couple of gems hidden away in this book, including The Bee’s Knees, which was my favourite.

Some of the twists in the stories I had spotted, but that doesn’t take away from the story and some of the stories are much darker than the others, but are thought provoking and interesting.

I think if you’re a fan of short stories with a hidden twist and quirky element, you’ll most likely enjoy this book. For me, personally, it’s not the greatest collection of short stories I’ve come across, but for the cheap download price, it’s well worth a look.

 

Why not visit amazon.com or amazon.co.uk to take a look at this collection of short stories? – If you do read it please let me know what you think!

1 Comment

Filed under 3 Star

One response to “Watching Horsepats Feed the Roses – Caroline England

  1. Pingback: My week in books – 11 – 18 March | A Kindle & Kittens

All feedback welcome, so please leave a comment!

