The Pineville Heist – Lee Chambers

Read                2 – 3 March 2012

My rating          3.5 / 5

Format             Kindle

This book was reviewed for and on behalf of The Kindle Book Review.

Pineville Heist is a fast paced action packed read, aimed at the young adult (YA) market.

When I first got this request through, I have to say I wasn’t really looking forward to it. I was, however, really pleasantly surprised; the story grabbed me from the off and very quickly developed into a brilliant who-dunnit style mystery. The front cover of the book reminds me of Scooby-Do, and I suppose the twist at the end of the ‘bad guy’ is reminiscent of a Scooby-Do mystery.

The story centres on Aaron, the son of the wealthy Pineville mill owner, a mill which provides the life support for the small town of Pineville. Rumours abound that the mill owner is selling up, and with this, Pineville will become a ghost town. Motivated by greed and a desire to get out before the town dies, we see a heist take place, with $5m stolen. Who did it and will Aaron get out alive in order to save the town’s money?

The story twists and turns, and will be enough to get any reader interested. I think that in light some of the language used and the rather gruesome nature of some of the deaths, this is probably aimed at the older end of the YA market, but, like any good YA book, it also crosses easily into the adult market too.

The ending was a little predictable, but then it should have been too – I’d have been disappointed if the final chapter hadn’t been what I had expected.

All in all, a promising debut novel by Chambers, which provides non-stop, action and adventure.

To find out more about this book, why not follow the author on twitter @pinevilleheist or visit the website.  Visit amazon.com or amazon.co.uk to buy xx; if you do read it, let me know what you think!

2 Comments

Filed under 3 Star, Kindle Book review

2 responses to “The Pineville Heist – Lee Chambers

  1. Pingback: My week in books – 26 February – 4 March | A Kindle & Kittens

  2. It has ‘heist’ in the title so I am intrigued already.

All feedback welcome, so please leave a comment!

