Snapback – Bob Harvey

Read                26 – 28 February

My rating          3 / 5

Format             Kindle

This book was reviewed for and on behalf of The Kindle Book Review

I’m not sure where to start with the review for Snapback; there’s a great idea somewhere in there, but for me, it just didn’t quite work.

There are lots of complex layers in this book that do all neatly come together, but whilst I am happy to suspend disbelief for a good story, I found that the way this was book was set up, was all just a step too far for me.

The book follows Matt, an amateur photographer who works for a traditional biscuit factory. Over the course of a week, Matt finds himself at what become high profile news events, and he takes pictures. He sends said pictures to the local paper and cue mayhem etc as Matt doesn’t quite realise what he’s uncovered along the way.

The story is complex and multi-layered and does keep you guessing until the end about how it will all tie together. But, that said, for me this book struggled to hold my attention to the end.  I felt that if some of the layers had been cut out, then the story might have been a little more engaging for me.

 

That said, its well written and the book does explore lots of different things, and shows how some things, taken out of context, can me completely misconstrued, whether that be a paranoid foreign official or a prominent individual caught (accidentally) in a compromising position.

 

I’ve read some other reviews on amazon that have been really positive about this book, so maybe it just wasn’t one for me, I really would urge you to check it out for yourself and let me know what you think.

 

You can buy this book on amazon.com or amazon.co.uk. You can follow Bob Harvey on twitter @bobswordtrail or visit his website here for more information.

1 Comment

Filed under 3 Star, Book Review, Kindle Book review

One response to “Snapback – Bob Harvey

  1. Pingback: My week in books – 26 February – 4 March | A Kindle & Kittens

All feedback welcome, so please leave a comment!

