Silver Linings – Kate James

Read    12 – 13 February 2012

My Rating        5 / 5

Format             Kindle

 

This book was read for and on behalf of the Kindle Book Review.

 

Sliver Linings is a debut novel by Kate James, and follows the loves and losses of Katlyn.  The story begins in a sad way, as Katlyn learns about the sudden and unexpected death of the love of her life. The story follows Katlyn as she takes residence in St Lucia to begin to rebuild her life. It is here that she meets the tall man with the dog on the beach one morning and her life takes on new developments in terms of her artistic work and love life.

 

This book is everything you would expect from a romance novel, a character who’s life you wished you lived, a man you wished you’d met and a setting that is delightful. The writing is stunning, and Kate does a superb job of creating her characters, her settings and her story. The descriptions of Katlyn, and the man on the beach are just stunning and the day trip to Martinique is beautiful – I almost felt like I was there – which is no mean feat given it’s been wet and grey in Manchester this weekend!

 

The book twists and turns into the unexpected, and Kate does a brilliant job of bringing a real depth to her characters; demonstrating to us the bond between Katlyn and her best friend Myra. We meet Jolene who is described exquisitely, and you really do feel on the side of Katlyn as she learns to love again.

At the end of the book Kate has included an ‘about’ section – I wasn’t surprised to read through this and see some of her own life had been portrayed in the main characters – the bit about living abroad as a child struck me in particular. Also, from the way that Kate depicts Zach, the dog, you can tell she is a dog lover, and I wouldn’t be surprised if Zach was a dog of Kate’s; the attention to detail in describing Zach and his mannerisms and behaviour are exquisitely perfect.

 

This is a simply beautiful book, that portrays a beautiful love story in a superb way. Credit must also go to the publishers, General Store Publishing House, as the finish on this e-book is second to none – the quality of the editing and tight story line and character development demonstrate not only what a superb writer Kate James is, but what a great partnership she must have developed with her publishers – it’s great to see ebooks being treated in such a professional way – and I for one can’t wait for the next instalment from Kate James!

 

 

 

To buy this beautiful book please see here for the US and here for the UK.You can follow Kate on Twitter -@katejamesbooks are visit her website for more information.

7 Comments

Filed under 5 Star, Kindle Book review

7 responses to “Silver Linings – Kate James

  1. Pingback: A Year of Books | A Kindle & Kittens

  2. golo

    your book is amazing. Thank you for making my book report so easy to do.

    • I am very sorry I am so late in replying but I just recently became aware that you posted a question. First of all, I am honoured that you chose SILVER LININGS for your book report.

      In response to your first question, I get my story ideas from a variety of sources. It can be based on personal experience, or something I see or hear in the news. I read an article some time ago that referred to fictionalizing facts. I believe every author does this to a degree. I certainly do. Writing about what I know or have experienced leads to a more genuine, believable story, in my opinion.

      SILVER LININGS is about overcoming adversity and I chose the title (okay, I have to give credit to my husband for thinking of it!) because no matter how bad things may seem, there is always a silver lining!

      Thank you for your questions. Best wishes.

      Kate

  3. golo

    i read your book for a book report and it was amazing. the only thing that i wanted to ask you is how did you come up with this book and how is the title related to the story.

    • I am very glad you enjoyed Silver Linings. I appreciate your feedback!

      In response to your first question, when I first started writing, I read about the concept of fictionalizing facts. I believe every author does this to a degree. I certainly do. Writing about what I know or have experienced leads to a more genuine, believable story, in my opinion. For example, I have spent a considerable amount of time on the beautiful island of St. Lucia. I also painted and taught art while I was in university.

      As to the second question, Katlyn experiences some personal tragedies and setbacks but, as the title implies, no matter how dire things may seem, there is always the potential for something brighter—a “silver lining”—beyond.

      I answer readers’ questions in my newsletter too. Should you wish to subscribe, please e-mail me at Readers@Kate-James.com with “Newsletter” in the subject line.

      Thank you, again, for your positive feedback and your interest in my writing.

      Best wishes.

      Kate

  4. Pingback: My week in books – 12 – 19 February | A Kindle & Kittens

  5. Sarah, I appreciate you taking the time to read Silver Linings and the wonderfully positive review!

All feedback welcome, so please leave a comment!

