Dead or Alive by Erika Hayasaki

READ  11 February 2012

MY RATING  4 / 5

FORMAT        Kindle

I read this book for and on behalf of the Kindle Book Review.

I’ll be honest, I wasn’t sure what to make of this book. I hadn’t fully read the synopsis and when I realised it was a non-fiction book I very nearly put it down…. However, I realised it was only a short read so I might as well give it a go.

Well, it’s a really interesting book, Hayasaki is a journalist and her book focuses on near death experiences, prompted by the recent death of her uncle, Richard and the book does a neat job if summarising recent studies and research into near death experiences and is semi-biographical as it features her uncles own near death experience.

The book was interesting, but felt a little too brief if I’m truthful – it took me about 35 minutes to read – and I’d like to see a fuller account written by Hayasaki. It almost feels like the book has come too quickly after her Richard’s passing. I’d have liked to have read a more in depth view of near death experiences, and learn a little more about the end of life care aspect.

That said, Dead of Alive is a really quick and easy read into something that we’ll all face, someday. The book isn’t morbid at all, but presents a quite difficult topic in a really accessible way.

Interested? then why not head over to Amazon and download (.com here and .co.uk here). You might also want to follow the author on twitter – @erikahayaski or visit her website for more information.

1 Comment

Filed under 4 Star, Book Review

One response to “Dead or Alive by Erika Hayasaki

  1. Pingback: My week in books – 5 February – 12 February | A Kindle & Kittens

All feedback welcome, so please leave a comment!

